Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World, Asia Minor FOUNDATION OF THE HELLENIC WORLD
Αναζήτηση με το γράμμα AΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα BΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα CΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα DΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα EΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα FΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα GΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα HΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα IΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα JΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα KΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα LΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα MΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα NΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα OΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα PΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα QΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα RΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα SΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα TΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα UΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα VΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα WΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα XΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα YΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα Z






Cappadocia (Antiquity)

Cappadocia (Antiquity) (8/2/2006 v.1) Καππαδοκία (Αρχαιότητα) (14/10/2005 v.1)

Region of Asia Minor, east of Phrygia and west of the River Euphrates. From the middle of the 6th cent. BC until the end of the 4th cent. BC it was a satrapy of the Persian Empire. During the Hellenistic period it belonged administratively to the two kingdoms of Great Cappadocia and Cappadocia next to Pontus. In the 1st cent. BC the northern part was named Pontus. In the 1st cent. AD it became part of the Roman Empire and was organized into a province.




Commagene - to be assigned Κομμαγηνή - to be assigned


Kingdom of Ararat (Urartu)

Kingdom of Ararat (Urartu) - to be assigned Βασίλειο του Αραράτ (Ουραρτού) - to be assigned


Kingdom of Pontus

Kingdom of Pontus (24/1/2006 v.1) Βασίλειο του Πόντου (14/10/2005 v.1)

A later name describing the realm of the Mithridatic dynasty (281-63 BC). At times it included areas of the Pontus, Bithynia, Paphlagonia, Cappadocia, Armenia Minor and Colchis. The military and administrative organization of the kingdom betokens Persian and Hellenistic influences.



Province of Asia (Antiquity)

Province of Asia (Antiquity) (3/2/2006 v.1) Επαρχία Ασίας (Αρχαιότητα) (14/10/2005 v.1)

The province of Asia was established in 129 BC by the consul Manius Aquilius, based on the dominions of the kingdom of Pergamon that Attalus III had bequeathed to the Roman people in 133 BC. The province comprised the regions of Troad, Aeolis, Mysia, Ionia, Lydia and Caria. Phrygia was added to them later. In 27 BC, the structure of the province was reorganized by Augustus and came under the jurisdiction of the senate. The borders of the province did not change until Diocletian’s reign at the...



Province of Bithynia-Pontus (Antiquity)

Province of Bithynia-Pontus (Antiquity) - to be assigned Επαρχία Βιθυνίας-Πόντου (Αρχαιότητα) - to be assigned


Province of Cappadocia (Antiquity)

Province of Cappadocia (Antiquity) - to be assigned Επαρχία Καππαδοκίας (Αρχαιότητα) - to be assigned


Province of Cilicia (Antiquity)

Province of Cilicia (Antiquity) - to be assigned Επαρχία Κιλικίας (Αρχαιότητα) - to be assigned


Province of Galatia (Antiquity)

Province of Galatia (Antiquity) - to be assigned Επαρχία Γαλατίας (Αρχαιότητα) - to be assigned


Province of Lycia-Pamphylia (Antiquity)

Province of Lycia-Pamphylia (Antiquity) - to be assigned Επαρχία Λυκίας-Παμφυλίας (Αρχαιότητα) - to be assigned