Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World, Asia Minor FOUNDATION OF THE HELLENIC WORLD
Αναζήτηση με το γράμμα AΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα BΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα CΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα DΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα EΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα FΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα GΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα HΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα IΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα JΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα KΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα LΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα MΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα NΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα OΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα PΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα QΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα RΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα SΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα TΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα UΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα VΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα WΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα XΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα YΑναζήτηση με το γράμμα Z






Diocese of Asiana (Byzantium)

Diocese of Asiana (Byzantium) (25/1/2006 v.1) Ασίας Διοίκησις (Βυζάντιο) (14/10/2005 v.1)

The Diocese of Asiana of the prefecture of Oriens (praefectura praetorio per Orientem), an administrative division of the Roman Empire, was formed in 314 in the west and south territories of Asia Minor and the Aegean Sea. It included eleven densely populated provinces. The cities and the harbours of Asiana were centres of the Greco-Roman civilisation in Late Antiquity. The Diocese of Asiana ceased to exist in the third fourth of the 7th century, when its provinces came under the Themes of...



Diocese of Oriens (Byzantium)

Diocese of Oriens (Byzantium) (20/1/2006 v.1) Ανατολής Διοίκησις (Βυζάντιο) (14/10/2005 v.1)

The Diocese of Oriens, being part of the prefecture of Oriens (praefectura praetorio per Orientem), was established in 314 in the southern and southeastern territories of the Roman Empire, while after 359 it was divided into seventeen provinces, most of which fell in Arabs' hands in the 7th century. The mint of the diocese was in Antioch-on-the-Orontes, the administrative centre of the diocese. The head of the diocese was the comes Orientis, who was later replaced by the comes of Isauria...



Diocese of Pontica (Byzantium)

Diocese of Pontica (Byzantium) (14/2/2006 v.1) Πόντου Διοίκησις (Βυζάντιο) (14/10/2005 v.1)

The Diocese of Pontica (the Pontos) was established in 314 and included the provinces of northern Asia Minor. The mint was in Nicomedia of Bithynia. The vicarius of the Pontos probably had his seat in Amaseia of Helenopontos or in Ankara of Galatia. A short-term administrative reform, concerning all the provinces and the jurisdiction of the vicarius in the Pontos, was carried out in the years of Justinian I. The Diocese of Pontica was abolished in the Middle Byzantine period.